Skip to content ↓

Pastoral Care at Severn Vale School

The Pastoral System

Every student has a tutor who will usually follow their group through until the end of their time at school.  Tutors work in a team under the direction of a non-teaching Head of Year (HOY) who will also remain with the year group throughout their five years. 

The pastoral structure is divided into Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4 with an Assistant Headteacher responsible for each. 

Key Stage 3

Luke Brown — Assistant Head KS 3
Year 7
Vic Ball — Head of Year 7 Ann Ponter — Transition HLTA for SEN/ALN
Year 8 Year 9

Penny Davis — Head of Year 8

Jen Essex — Head of Year 9

Andy Davies — KS3 Pastoral Mentor Rob Hunte — KS3 Pastoral Mentor
Mark Nichols — Assistant Head & DSL Michell Littlegray — Assistant Head & SENCO


Key Stage 4

Rob Spooner — Assistant Head KS 4
Year 10 Year 11



Melissa Skidmore — Head of Year 10 Fiona Hayward — Head of Year 11

Non-attached Pastoral Staff

Deb Jorden — Inclusion Manager & Deputy DSL